one day it'll all make sense.

“Down and Dirty” -Spartan Race 2012

If you’re a fit, healthy, a bit crazy person who likes a new challenge and doesn’t mind getting more than a little dirty… obstacle racing might be the thing for you!  These things really only started to pop up in Canada in the last few years, but are now becoming hugely popular.  Yesterday, I made the trek up the Hardwood Hills north of Barrie Ontario to give it a shot.  I’m not the kind of person who gets nervous generally.  Heading into a Provincial Championships ball hockey game, while many of my team mates are ready to hurl from nerves, or careening down a steep single track through the forest on my mountain bike, or faced with some stressful situation at work, I’m generally pretty calm and collected.  Yesterday, I have to admit, I was a bit terrified.  “What the hell have I gotten myself into?!” ran through my head a few times.  To start things off, my GPS gave me the best “WTF?” it could when I tried to figure out where exactly I was going.  Then when I finally figured it out (including the directions that said to turn on 15&16 sideroad… YES.  That’s actually the name of the road!  Who does that?) Anyways, once I got there, I was a little surprised to find that the parking was about 5kms from the shuttle buses to the event.  Shuttle buses.  Ya, 6 buses for 5000 competitors and all their entourage.  After the 5km trudge through a field, the line to get on a bus took more than an hour.  Once I finally got to the event, guess what?  Another line to register :p  Good thing I got there 3 hours early hoping to watch a bunch before my turn!  haha.  When I finally was waiting at the starting line, it started to pour.  BUT… with all the things that seem to work against us leading up to the actual race, it WAS AWESOME!!!  Easily one of the most amazing experiences I’ve ever had.  🙂  Only part I would change would be having to do it without Ange, but we’re now signed up to do it together in July, so no worries there.

So… the race!  The first third was rolling hills.  I’m a runner, but I’m not used to running steep hills.  I’m also super competitive with myself though, and damn stubborn.  Those hills were NOT going to win!  (although the wet and slippery grass/mud was interesting)  Then came the obstacles!  We climb ropes, walls and giant piles of hay bales.  We waded through a seemingly endless amount of smelly, sticky mud – at one point I took a step and sunk over waist level 😮  We carried sand bags, pushed loaded wheel barrels, battled warrior guys with those giant padded Q-tip looking things, AND leapt over fire!  WHAT A RUSH!!  Sound awesome??  Check it out:

http://www.spartanrace.com    OR   http://www.warriordash.com

I think I’m still trying to get the mud off! 🙂

Comments on: "bruised, wet, filthy, and LOVING IT!" (1)

  1. Great recap! I actually decided today to train for a mudrun – seems like a great challenge!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

MSnubutterflies

My Walk..........Living With MS

Multiple Sclerosis And Beyond

Bill Walker: msandbeyond@gmail.com

How I live with MS

This is how I live with Multiple Sclerosis

Accessibility Matters

Carpe Diem - Veni Vidi Vici

petra8paleo

Biohacking Autoimmune ~Biohacking Peak Experience

I Train Therefore I Eat.

Nutrition, Strength Training, and joie de vivre

Nick Momrik's CrossFit Training

Experiences with the Sport of Fitness

Run Away With Me

My outdoor adventures in the Last Frontier

sassyfitlatina.wordpress.com/

Sassiness is a lifestyle.

Imperfect Reason

Perfect nonsense from an unreasonable world

Lady with MS

A record of life with Multiple Sclerosis

Whole Living

Embracing MS with God, greens and garland pose

makeitgreenbabe

life, issues, pursuit of happines, my stories

I am a Girl and I lift HEAVY!

My weightlifting diary

Great Food - Health, Happiness and Freedom...Nxo

Recipes to get you there: Health and happiness because you deserve it, freedom because with the first two we achieve the freedom to live our life to the fullest.

