one day it'll all make sense.

ranting

I’m baaaaack! 🙂 well, here’s hoping anyway… Life has been so jam packed with, well, life! Bear with me for a minute here… I really am in a great mood today, just have a few random pet peeves to air before getting into happy stuff…

1. Kitchener/Waterloo seems to have a growing obsession with roundabouts. WTF?! They are popping up all over the place. Very few of the people who live or work there seem to have any concept of how the damn things work! In a community with two universities and a major college, maybe this is something that should be a mandatory class?

2. WHY is it people in the greater Toronto area seem to feel it’s completely acceptable (if not mandatory) to pee on the seat in public toilets? Seriously people? Then some poor unsuspecting person who doesn’t realize this is clearly the “norm” these days would find themselves sitting on this? I mean, the opportunity to get in a squat session is not something I usually complain about, but this is disgusting and seems to me to show a total disregard for other people…

3. I’m pretty rock solid with my pledge to myself to carry on with my little Paleo existence. I mean, it’s been more than 5 months since I made the commitment to give this a “30 day test run”. It passed with flying colours in my books and I can’t think of one day I’ve considered returning to the old S.A.D. (standard American diet). I love food. I LOVE to cook. I’m always searching the web for new and interesting recipes to try out. Where my beef comes into it all… I find it sooooo frustrating when I get all pumped to make something only to determine that you can’t find that one important ingredient anywhere in Canada. arrrrg!!

Ok. Done ranting for the moment. Whew! Otherwise, this week has been an interesting one for me in all elements really. My dad is going through chemo right now, for anyone who didn’t know, which has reeked havoc on my mental capacity, but I’m dealing with that how I know best… Friday he moved into my mom’s house for a month until he can get himself into his new apartment. A bit weird, my parents split when I was 3 or 4 :-S I admire my mother a bit for having the level of compassion to welcome anyone in for a month after living alone for so long… Especially when that anyone is someone with so much history. Could be a rocky month though! At work I’m in the process of looking to hire one or maybe two sales associates. 3 interviews yesterday… Good times!! Anyone with camera/retail experience looking for a job in Kitchener/Waterloo?? Hahahaha…

A little while ago I bought the book Everyday Paleo which has a whole bunch of fun new recipes to try. While I’ve enjoyed the new culinary conquests, there’s a section in the book with some little workout routines which have been helpful in getting me out of my fitness drought. Just small workouts that I can do in a relatively small amount of time, especially when compared to my thought process that chained me to an hour+ at the gym 5-6 days a week. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not horribly out of shape, just trying to add some more full body workouts into my daily life to hopefully get to the point where I’m comfortable enough to set foot into the crossfit box in Milton that Ange Ange have discussed trying out. While I’ve followed my own little crossfit type regiment at home/gym for quite some time… The sense of community which everyone raves about that comes from working at a good crossfit box is exactly what I’m hoping to bring into my world! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud