one day it'll all make sense.

sass-SQUASH!!

So… my “clean up your act” week is going pretty well.  I’m still fighting the dried cranberries and walnuts addiction that I’ve formed over the last few months though… they are my nemesis!  Also the one “cheat” I continue to make excuses for myself as to why I should be allowed to eat them.  “I’m otherwise such a clean eater” is the one that keeps popping into my twisted head…  ah well, pick your battles I guess 😉

I have another addiction at the moment.  This one I’m not at all embarrassed to admit.  I can’t stop buying squash.  ALL kinds of squash!  It’s just so delicious, and there are soooo many different things you can do with it!  Thank you google!!  My top searches as of late have all been squash related…  and it all started when my staff member brought in that ridiculously enormous butternut.  What I’ve loved so far:

Butternut squash – SOUP

  • 1 medium butternut squash, peeled and cut into 1″ cubes
  • 1 medium-large sweet potato, peeled and cut into 1″ cubes
  • 2-3 carrots, peeled and cut into 1″ slices
  • chicken or vegetable broth
  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1/4 cup (ish) diced sweet onion
  • curry powder and nutmeg – to taste

In a large pot over medium heat, add a squirt of olive oil, minced garlic and diced onion.  Saute until onion becomes translucent.  Add squash, sweet potato and carrots and continue to saute for another 5ish minutes, stirring occasionally to prevent burning.  Add enough broth to just cover veggies.  Turn up heat to bring to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer for 40-45 minutes or until veggies are all soft.  Remove from heat and let cool some…. then use an immersion blender to puree into soup.  Stir in curry powder and nutmeg, to taste.  Mmmm… heaven.  Freezes well too!

Delicata Squash – Chicken Bacon Alfredo    (Also uses Spaghetti Squash!  double awesome!)

More to follow next time.  I just got a nice acorn squash which I have big plans for…  Just for fun, here’s a glimpse at the “emergency” food stash I keep in my work freezer.  I’ve also added a pick of the stash kept by the rest of my staff.  Strangely enough, I have no concerns of anyone eating my food :p

eek!

in case of emergency

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

MSnubutterflies

My Walk..........Living With MS

Multiple Sclerosis And Beyond

Bill Walker: msandbeyond@gmail.com

How I live with MS

This is how I live with Multiple Sclerosis

Accessibility Matters

Carpe Diem - Veni Vidi Vici

petra8paleo

Biohacking Autoimmune ~Biohacking Peak Experience

I Train Therefore I Eat.

Nutrition, Strength Training, and joie de vivre

Nick Momrik's CrossFit Training

Experiences with the Sport of Fitness

Mountain Maven

My outdoor adventures in the Last Frontier

sassyfitlatina.wordpress.com/

Sassiness is a lifestyle.

Imperfect Reason

Perfect nonsense from an unreasonable world

Lady with MS

A record of life with Multiple Sclerosis

Whole Living

Embracing MS with God, greens and garland pose

makeitgreenbabe

life, issues, pursuit of happines, my stories

I am a Girl and I lift HEAVY!

My weightlifting diary

Great Food - Health, Happiness and Freedom...Nxo

Recipes to get you there: Health and happiness because you deserve it, freedom because with the first two we achieve the freedom to live our life to the fullest.

