one day it'll all make sense.

first benchmark – done!

fran Yup.  I get it now.  Yesterday I was introduced to Fran for the first time.  Never a good sign when you confess to the fact that it’s a first and the rest of the people at the box get all excited.  “I love seeing someone meet Fran for the first time!!” was one response, and “OH… you’re going to have funnnn!” had to be my fav.  It was… uh… ya.  I’m searching to come up with a way that conveys my feelings appropriately.  I’m getting really used to the same suggestions I always have yelled my way “be aggresive Kate!”  “POP your hips to get the weight up!” &   “Stop trying to use your ARMS!” are becomming a daily ritual.  My head understands, my body says… “meh, not feeling ya”.  I don’t want to be an excuse maker, but after tearing my hip flexor on the left side years ago, I’m stiff as hell and just don’t react as quickly as my mind would like to think I do.  Once I got rolling though, my arms started to fatigue and my lower body had no choice but to do it’s share.  Fran consists of rounds of 21, 15 & 9 reps, for time:

– thrusters 55lbs (Rx was 65!  I was only a little 5lb plate per side away! :D)

– pull-ups (using the green band for assistance)

I completed all 3 rounds in 6:44 and managed to not cry.  Barely.  I was awfully close though when it came to the third round of pull-ups, trust me :p  In the end I felt AWESOME 🙂  My first benchmark workout, done!  And I didn’t die.

This morning I packed my lunch and made myself a green shake for the road.  Not that I expect wonderful things from my salad in a cup, but I know it’s super healthy and doesn’t taste bad.  However, when you get a message from a friend with a picture of their amazing looking breakfast of sweet potato, fried egg and a little piece of steak… suddenly my green drink seems rather disappointing.

green monster

Comments on: "first benchmark – done!" (2)

  1. I always get so excited for someone’s first Fran! First benchmark being first Fran = AMAZING!! Fran: I love her, I hate her, I always look forward to getting her. Well done, Kate!!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

MSnubutterflies

My Walk..........Living With MS

Multiple Sclerosis And Beyond

Bill Walker: msandbeyond@gmail.com

How I live with MS

This is how I live with Multiple Sclerosis

Accessibility Matters

Carpe Diem - Veni Vidi Vici

petra8paleo

Biohacking Autoimmune ~Biohacking Peak Experience

I Train Therefore I Eat.

Nutrition, Strength Training, and joie de vivre

Nick Momrik's CrossFit Training

Experiences with the Sport of Fitness

Mountain Maven

My outdoor adventures in the Last Frontier

sassyfitlatina.wordpress.com/

Sassiness is a lifestyle.

Imperfect Reason

Perfect nonsense from an unreasonable world

Lady with MS

A record of life with Multiple Sclerosis

Whole Living

Embracing MS with God, greens and garland pose

makeitgreenbabe

life, issues, pursuit of happines, my stories

I am a Girl and I lift HEAVY!

My weightlifting diary

Great Food - Health, Happiness and Freedom...Nxo

Recipes to get you there: Health and happiness because you deserve it, freedom because with the first two we achieve the freedom to live our life to the fullest.

