one day it'll all make sense.

don’t speak, Squat!!

So, this morning I woke up with a thick smoker’s accent.  Like, when I got to the box, Dave asked “whoa!!  What happened to you?!?”  No, I was not out all night chain-smoking an entire carton of cigarettes while begging the bingo guy to “call B18 already!” and stroking my lucky treasure trolls…  Only excuse I can come up with is Saturday.  My day of minimal nutrition and limited hydration, with a good hour or more standing in the pouring rain.  I hate wet shoes.  lol

This really emphasized for me how nutrition can be the building blocks of the whole pyramid.  No food can be worse than bad food sometimes, but I’m not even sure where to begin when I need to eat something in a pinch.  Going to skip the first night of hockey tonight.  I’m just wanting to lay on the couch with a cup of tea and a good book right about now :p

Anyways, dragged my sketchy voice and tired butt to the box anyway for the 7:30 am WOD.  It was a lifting day…  nothing was going to keep this kid at home.  😀  My inner sadist.  The funny part I realized once I got there that there really isn’t one part of this WOD that I could say “I like that.  That will be fun.”  It’s all friggin’ hard while doing it, but totally AWESOME once it’s all said and done 😀

Back Squats: 9-9-9-9  #105  😀  (guess it’s time to revisit my 3 rep max: back squat  09/06/2013    #105)
Push Press: 9-9-9-9 — #75  (good gawd these were hard today…  but what a difference when the dip-drive is a strong one.  The bar seems to just float!)
Pull-ups: 9-9-9-9  — green band again, but first two sets were un-broken   😀

9 reps sucks.  Today it seemed 5 or 7 was my number.  The rep I could get to before wanting to run and hide.  Or cry.  But I didn’t do any of that, although I was so sloooow today that I didn’t get to the bonus rounds of reverse hypers and good mornings.  I’ll make those up later this week.

On top of everything, I was so eager to go lift sh*t/fuzzy brained from this cold or whatever that I forgot my bag of work clothes hanging on my closet drawer at home.  Post my slow-ass lifting sessions, I had no time to run home and worked the first few hours of my shift in yoga pants, a work shirt, little white gym socks and my Birkenstock clogs.  I looked hot.  And sooo professional as any manager should.  (no)  Whatever.

Hopefully my lungs figure things out by tomorrow.  It’s one thing to lift with a cold in your chest, it’s another to attempt a metcon…

Comments on: "don’t speak, Squat!!" (4)

  1. Great job on meeting your old 3RM! I love that feeling, when you either rep your old 1RM or pass up a PR for a new PR. Now get some rest, yo

  2. I hate being sick, but when I get that raspy Carly Simon voice I kinda dig it… Almost makes me want to smoke a carton if cigarettes…ha! Not really. Hope you feel better soon!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

MSnubutterflies

My Walk..........Living With MS

Multiple Sclerosis And Beyond

Bill Walker: msandbeyond@gmail.com

How I live with MS

This is how I live with Multiple Sclerosis

Accessibility Matters

Carpe Diem - Veni Vidi Vici

petra8paleo

Biohacking Autoimmune ~Biohacking Peak Experience

I Train Therefore I Eat.

Nutrition, Strength Training, and joie de vivre

Nick Momrik's CrossFit Training

Experiences with the Sport of Fitness

Mountain Maven

My outdoor adventures in the Last Frontier

sassyfitlatina.wordpress.com/

Sassiness is a lifestyle.

Imperfect Reason

Perfect nonsense from an unreasonable world

Lady with MS

A record of life with Multiple Sclerosis

Whole Living

Embracing MS with God, greens and garland pose

makeitgreenbabe

life, issues, pursuit of happines, my stories

I am a Girl and I lift HEAVY!

My weightlifting diary

Personalized Performance & Nutrition

Imagine leaping out of bed every morning feeling awesome, looking your best, ready to face whatever the day presents. Optimize your health and this will be YOU!

