one day it'll all make sense.

colour fast

This weekend I decided to take a weekend off from crossfit.  Shocking, I know!  And I’m not even sick or anything.  Saturday was an actual day off from physical activity, and today I somewhat got a chance to make up for the 5km WOD from last week that I was all bummed I couldn’t do.  Can I tell you… for whatever reason, I was nervous!  For the last couple of days I’ve been stressing a little over whether or not I was ready to run!  If you knew me, you’d tell me I was just being crazy…  I’ve always been a runner, and it’s only a 5km run.  But since starting crossfit, I’ve let go of my 2-3 times a week of heading out for a solo 5km trot around my neighbourhood…  The element of “constantly varied” has totally changed my view of exercise.  I even hopped on my spin bike in the early morning hours to flush my legs out a bit in anticipation of potential failure.  My fears were proven to be a waste of energy though…  Today my youngest sister and I did the Color Me Rad 5km run in Kitchener 🙂  While it’s not designed to be run as a race, and we got stuck behind a few groups of walkers, we were both pretty satisfied to complete then run in just over 30 minutes and completely covered in brightly coloured chalk.

46450 & 46451

46450 & 46451

Back in June when I registered for the Toronto run, my intention had been to do it with my sister then, but by the time I got the “OK” from my step-mom to bring her, registration was closed.  Today made up for that 🙂  I never even realized what an impact my own interest in health and fitness was having on my sisters.  Hannah, who I ran with today, and Claire, our middle sister, both live 3 hours from me but we all have managed to build a tighter connection this last 10 months.  Hannah has always been really into sports.  We’ve shared a love of hockey and skiing/snowboarding for quite a few years, but this year I’ve been able to share both an adventure/mud run and today’s colormerad.  I think she’s hooked 🙂  After hearing of the new love I found through Crossfit back in July, my baby sister joined a box out near her in September 😀  Claire and I have formed a stronger bond this year too.  Claire is not as interested in sports and working out as Hannah and I are, but Claire LOVES to cook!  Over the summer, while home from university, Claire decided she too wanted to give the Paleo thing a try.  Months into it, she refuses to back give in to adversity 🙂  We swap recipes and share cooking tips all the time.  It’s awesome.  🙂

IMG_00000026

So for all the people out there who don’t want to have an open mind when they hear of someone going against the grain, all I can say is this – I ramble about my Paleo lifestyle, not to make you feel bad about your own choices, or to suggest that I am “better” than you.  I share tales of my personal experiences because I have found something that is working for me.  Not suggesting it will work for everyone, or that everyone should give it a try.  Maybe just suggesting that with a little effort, we can make things better for ourselves.  After all, the definition of insanity?  Doing the same thing over and over, but expecting a different result.  If something is not working for you, you’re the only one who can fix it.  Similar can be said for crossfit.  Why do crosfitters talk non-stop about crossfit?  Cause they are genuinely EXCITED about this new format of exercise that they’ve discovered and all they want to do is share!!  Honestly, the only people I ramble to about crossfit (other than in my blog of course, but it’s MY blog. lol) are people who I care enough about to want to pass along the same excitement I feel in hopes that it may inspire them to look for something that works for them.

Anyways, that was more of a ramble than it was meant to be.  For me, my sisters are an inspiration to continue to share my experiences.  Claire, a 19-year-old 2nd year university student sent me a text yesterday to let me know she went to the farmers market and came home with 7 squashes!  LOL!  “People were looking at me like I was crazy.  But I didn’t care… they’re SO GOOD!”  was her comment.  Love it 🙂  (and totally agree!)  Hannah, a 16-year-old with the love of sports mentioned to me today “That was my first time ever running a 5km!  Well, other than Warrior Dash back in July…  I want to do more!!”  Wow!  Awesome 🙂  So…. despite the distance between us 3, I feel like I have had an impact on the well-being of these young girls this year, and it feels great 🙂

I’m so proud of them 🙂

 

Comments on: "colour fast" (1)

  1. This is key; “I share tales of my personal experiences because I have found something that is working for me,” if only I can get those around me to understand that this sentence is exactly where I am coming from. If you like bread fine, however, don’t beat me up when you ask me the how and why of my nutrition than get an answer from me you do not like.

    Oh, and I did a Color Run with my wife for her first 5k. I am just going to say; that was my last one. Looked like y’all had fun!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

MSnubutterflies

My Walk..........Living With MS

Multiple Sclerosis And Beyond

Bill Walker: msandbeyond@gmail.com

How I live with MS

This is how I live with Multiple Sclerosis

Accessibility Matters

Carpe Diem - Veni Vidi Vici

petra8paleo

Biohacking Autoimmune ~Biohacking Peak Experience

I Train Therefore I Eat.

Nutrition, Strength Training, and joie de vivre

Nick Momrik's CrossFit Training

Experiences with the Sport of Fitness

Mountain Maven

My outdoor adventures in the Last Frontier

sassyfitlatina.wordpress.com/

Sassiness is a lifestyle.

Imperfect Reason

Perfect nonsense from an unreasonable world

Lady with MS

A record of life with Multiple Sclerosis

Whole Living

Embracing MS with God, greens and garland pose

makeitgreenbabe

life, issues, pursuit of happines, my stories

I am a Girl and I lift HEAVY!

My weightlifting diary

Great Food - Health, Happiness and Freedom...Nxo

Recipes to get you there: Health and happiness because you deserve it, freedom because with the first two we achieve the freedom to live our life to the fullest.

