one day it'll all make sense.

box-jumped

Today, just to mix things up a bit, I let the box jump ME instead of vice versa.  I don’t recommend this.  My shin was not impressed.

box jumped

Coach Dave said I got off easy cause the blood loss was minimal, but it still hurt like a b*tch.  This was during the warm-up, so Dave suggested I just do 30 seconds on, 30 seconds rest for the duration of the WOD so I wouldn’t have to jump around.  I tested my jumping abilities for a second, then decided “No way dude.  I got this!”  (shhh… here’s the secret.  Rowing sucks :p)  And check this awesome sh*t out!  This WOD (once scaled accordingly) was made for me:

Part 1. OTM for 16 Minutes:

Odd: 10- Hang Power Cleans #185/#135 Even: 10- Chest-Bar Pullups

Part 2. Not for time:

75- Pushups 75- Toes to Bar *Break them up in any which way

I love cleans, but I have a really bad habit of pulling early before my hips have opened.  Hang cleans give me no choice but to nail the form properly.  Love ’em 🙂  Love On The Minute WODS too cause… I dunno, just do.  You can do anything for 60 seconds, right?  Even my previously sore hip joined the party with no complaints.  My forearms were screaming by the 4th round of cleans, but it’s all good 🙂  I felt bad-ass for the first time in a few days.  😀

Scaled the chest-bar pull-ups to ring pulls cause Coach wanted to change things up, I’d usually use a band, and it was nice to try something different.

Killed the 75 push-ups, all done properly – not on my knees or with any worming action, and in un-broken set of 15.  Until I got to 60…  then the wheels fell off a little.  The last 15 was more like 7, 5, 3… but whatever.  I got to 75.  😀  The toes-bar was not bad-ass.  I could get 1 pretty solid one, then 1 ok one, then 1 total fail… then I would switch to knees-elbows till I got to a count of 10 reps.  Finishing the 75 took FOREVER.  Like, I was at the box well after the 9:15 class started.  But give me a little credit… Dave and I got talking about nutrition and stuff.  I eat that stuff up :p  And my hands were/are killing me.  Even my calluses got calluses today.  Classy, I know.

Side note… I confessed my trip to GoodLife yesterday while the box was closed 😦  I got a bit of a look but I was responsible.  I did the regular Monday routine, but I didn’t go super heavy cause I didn’t have a spotter and didn’t want any more injuries.  Figured I wasn’t doing myself any good by hiding anything from a coach.  Post today’s morning WOD, I went home to cook some stuff and get my food all prepped and ready to head to work.  Now I’m sitting at my desk with an ice pack on my lovely swollen box-jumped shin.

photo

Comments on: "box-jumped" (6)

  1. My leg is still touchy from a box jump collision this past summer. But I’m old and take forever to heal. Good luck with your ouchie.

    • haha thanks! Hopefully yours gets over the trauma soon too. It’s one of those things where ya always seem to find the place where there is nothing but a thin bit of skin covering the bone to give a good whack.

  2. Battle scars, nice!! And good job finishing

    • Thanks 🙂 and yes… If you can’t deal with the fact that sometimes you will fail before you succeed, you may never find out just how much you really are capable of.

  3. Nice job battling through those t2b. I have a permanent scar from a box jump gone bad. Those frisky buggers aren’t always very nice to me either.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

MSnubutterflies

My Walk..........Living With MS

Multiple Sclerosis And Beyond

Bill Walker: msandbeyond@gmail.com

How I live with MS

This is how I live with Multiple Sclerosis

Accessibility Matters

Carpe Diem - Veni Vidi Vici

petra8paleo

Biohacking Autoimmune ~Biohacking Peak Experience

I Train Therefore I Eat.

Nutrition, Strength Training, and joie de vivre

Nick Momrik's CrossFit Training

Experiences with the Sport of Fitness

Mountain Maven

My outdoor adventures in the Last Frontier

sassyfitlatina.wordpress.com/

Sassiness is a lifestyle.

Imperfect Reason

Perfect nonsense from an unreasonable world

Lady with MS

A record of life with Multiple Sclerosis

Whole Living

Embracing MS with God, greens and garland pose

makeitgreenbabe

life, issues, pursuit of happines, my stories

I am a Girl and I lift HEAVY!

My weightlifting diary

Personalized Performance & Nutrition

Imagine leaping out of bed every morning feeling awesome, looking your best, ready to face whatever the day presents. Optimize your health and this will be YOU!

