one day it'll all make sense.

nothing but net

CFdivision  009

Ok, this is just my opinion and you are free to either agree or disagree.  I’ve learned, and continue to do so, over my years of managing people that there is no right or wrong answer.  When dealing with a group of individuals, albeit ones who share similar interests, there is no black and white but more a wide range of shades of grey.  My role as a manager is, yes, to unlock the magic sequence to help each associate discover their potential, but while sharing camera knowledge and experiences is cool, it’s the psychology side of things that I really find intriguing.

CFdivision  010

Where am I going? Lol. The original intention of my rant was to talk about achieving goals at the box, and off I jogged on a related, but different path…  What can I say?  I’m tired today :p we lifted heavy this morning and now maybe I could use a nap.  But noooo… I’m sitting in a coffee shop, typing away on my iPad, waiting for my mom’s flight to arrive from Florida and trying to not be a brat who is slightly annoyed that I was asked to take the day off work to drive more than an hour to the airport to pick her up when her house is a 15 minute cab ride from the runway… I should have just coughed up the $$ for the cab.  But I’d be disowned for sure.  Sigh…

CFdivision  006

Ok, I’m over it!  And really going to focus now (hopefully).  First off, this chick got her first for-real, legit, Double Under this morning 😀 Coach Dave can vouch for me, he witnessed it  😀  That’s right!!  WOOOT!!  I even got a shout out on the Crossfit Division Facebook page haha.  Along with the comment:

Hard work beats talent, when talent doesn’t work hard.

While I’m telling myself this is not to suggest a lack of talent on my part, I can definitely agree that I am more than willing to work hard!  Damn hard!  Coaches are there to point you in the direction you need to go to find success, but from there it’s up to the individual to make a choice whether to succeed or fail.  Talent isn’t enough…

Ok, last Monday of our heavy lifting phase:

Back Squats: 9-9-9-9   #115
Push Press: 9-9-9-9    #65
Pull-ups: 9-9-9-9   — 1 set w/green band, then switched to ring pulls

*Based on how you feel, add #15-#20 on all Squats/Deadlifts and #5-#15 on all Presses*

After completing the big 3 – pick two of the following: Do 4 sets of 8-15, based upon load and feel.
Good Mornings
GHD Situps
Reverse Hypers  4 x 12
Sit-ups
Weighted reverse bridge hold (30 sec)  1 x 35, 1 x 45, 3 x #60!!  Last round, 60 seconds  (BITCH, PLEASE!! 🙂 )

Ok, so I didn’t jack up the weight for my back squat or push press.  But DUDE!!  I crushed the accessory stuff AND did a double under.  My first for-real-legit-double-under.  AND scored 5 goals at hockey.  Thankfully Murphy and his law waited until the very end of our game to land me a good hard slash right across my shin exactly where the box bit me last Tues.  Much appreciated.  I didn’t pass out, but came pretty friggin’ close, but didn’t.  It’s all mind over matter sometimes…  :p

** SIDE NOTE – as adding a little tagging action to my post, I realized it’s been a long time since I’ve felt justified to slap on the “weight loss” tag.  Anyone else find they actually gained weight since starting crossfit?  It doesn’t upset me as much anymore, but come on?  WTF?

Comments on: "nothing but net" (4)

  1. Yes! muscle! However the stronger i get and the better I get at WODS, my weight continually goes down…which is OK as long as its not muscle LOL

    • Well, I hope I get to that point some day soonish :p Not that the scale and I are friends or anything, but I’ve put on 20lbs in 2013 and it’s hard on the brain 😦

  2. AND GREAT JOB ON THE DOUBLE UNDER!!

  3. Leapin Lizardz said:

    Hooray on the double under!!!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

MSnubutterflies

My Walk..........Living With MS

Multiple Sclerosis And Beyond

Bill Walker: msandbeyond@gmail.com

How I live with MS

This is how I live with Multiple Sclerosis

Accessibility Matters

Carpe Diem - Veni Vidi Vici

petra8paleo

Biohacking Autoimmune ~Biohacking Peak Experience

I Train Therefore I Eat.

Nutrition, Strength Training, and joie de vivre

Nick Momrik's CrossFit Training

Experiences with the Sport of Fitness

Mountain Maven

My outdoor adventures in the Last Frontier

sassyfitlatina.wordpress.com/

Sassiness is a lifestyle.

Imperfect Reason

Perfect nonsense from an unreasonable world

Lady with MS

A record of life with Multiple Sclerosis

Whole Living

Embracing MS with God, greens and garland pose

makeitgreenbabe

life, issues, pursuit of happines, my stories

I am a Girl and I lift HEAVY!

My weightlifting diary

Personalized Performance & Nutrition

Imagine leaping out of bed every morning feeling awesome, looking your best, ready to face whatever the day presents. Optimize your health and this will be YOU!

