one day it'll all make sense.

work in progress

Sorry I’ve been neglecting my blog world this week…  but where did it go??  Got home late (for me, like 9:00pm) after 3 days away from Waterloo.  It’s craziness really, I’ve become such a “home body” this year in the sense that I’m happy to go long stretches of time without leaving this little city.

Anyways, I survived Tues and Wed at the GM conference, snaussaged in the same work pants that were baggy on my non-butt this time last year.  The facility the meeting was held at was great though.  The buffet style dinning was a situation which allowed me to stick to my Paleo lifestyle enjoyably, unlike the boring old sandwiches they usually try to pass off to us as food.  There was even a gym and pool, but after 8-9 hour days in meetings I was tired and couldn’t bring myself to go workout 😦  Lame.  The only thing that somewhat redeems me from this utter laziness is that I had to stand for most of the two days to attempt a tolerable pain level.  Arg.

2278[1]

Wednesday, when the conference was all said and done, I headed back to Brampton for one last sleep over at my mom’s place and stopped at the globo gym on the way.  Had to drag myself through the door, but felt better once I got rolling.  Isn’t that always the way?  Well, except for crossfit.  I usually can’t wait to go there!  The gym in Brampton is my old stomping grounds.  A place where I’ve spent many hours over the years, but this day it all looked different to me somehow…  First off, I was there with the intention of doing the same workout I would do if I was at the box:

Front Squats: 10-10-10-10-10 @ 40%-50%        #75
Push Jerks: 10-10-10-10-10 @ 40%-50%           #65
Deadlifts: 10-10-10-10-10 @ 40%-50%            #95

Seems simple enough, right?  Except when you look around and realize the gym only has one rack for a barbell.  And it’s busy.  Yes, I was that guy.  I tied up the ONE rack for like 30 minutes while I worked through my front squats and push jerks.  Honestly, I didn’t feel all that bad cause no one else seemed to have any interest in using it.  :p  The guy to my right was one of the huge upper body supported by toothpicks for legs kinda guys.  He was working his bench press, on the smith machine, with a spotter (?) and in the most agonizing form I’ve ever seen…  Shoulders on the bench, feet propped up, and hips thrust high in the air.  The guy to my left was using the hack squat machine with every free plate he could find and fit on the bars.  Had a buddy push the weight so he could release the safety, then he would move it about 3″ 2-3 times and rest.  I was completely confused, but to each their own.  So I just kept squatting.  Shitty part of the globo gym…  the whole place is like one giant mirror.  I used to appreciate that back in the day, but now it just makes me realize that the pants I squeezed into for the meeting weren’t telling me lies.  My thighs have gotten chunky.  Strong, yes, but chunky.  Not sure how to wrap my head around that yet.  I’m taking a look at the nutrition side of the game, cause I know there’s no question as to whether or not I work hard.  Whatever the case may be, it’s got to be about progress not perfection, right?  Well, I guess it’s going to be a work in progress.

Clap

Yesterday was Halloween 🙂  Spent the day with my long time best friends and their totally adorable little kidos.  After a whole day of “Kate! Come see!”, lots of hugs, little Olivia taking my hand over and over to lead me on nearly two-year-old adventures, I went home happy again after Wednesday’s gym frustration.

Today was the LAST day of our 8 week build phase 🙂  Today is also Friday, so my 7:30am workout was a Coach Sharon one.  (which Coach Dave attempted to hijack more than once, but once we got rolling order resumed 😉 )

Warm-up:  OTM for 14 minutes:

odd minute – Row for 7 calories      even minute – 7 wall balls #14

Back Squats: 10-10-10-10-10 @ 40%-50%       #65
Strict Press: 10-10-10-10-10 @ 40%-50%        #45
Front Squat: 10-10-10-10-10 @ 40%-50%        #65

BOO-YA!!  Let the next chapter begin!

Comments on: "work in progress" (1)

  1. Welcome back, I think I know the guy on the Smith Machine. He might be my new workout partner who keeps trying to disappear when I say squats. An issue of my own over here.

    BTW, I’m sure the pants look just fine!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

MSnubutterflies

My Walk..........Living With MS

Multiple Sclerosis And Beyond

Bill Walker: msandbeyond@gmail.com

How I live with MS

This is how I live with Multiple Sclerosis

Accessibility Matters

Carpe Diem - Veni Vidi Vici

petra8paleo

Biohacking Autoimmune ~Biohacking Peak Experience

I Train Therefore I Eat.

Nutrition, Strength Training, and joie de vivre

Nick Momrik's CrossFit Training

Experiences with the Sport of Fitness

Mountain Maven

My outdoor adventures in the Last Frontier

sassyfitlatina.wordpress.com/

Sassiness is a lifestyle.

Imperfect Reason

Perfect nonsense from an unreasonable world

Lady with MS

A record of life with Multiple Sclerosis

Whole Living

Embracing MS with God, greens and garland pose

makeitgreenbabe

life, issues, pursuit of happines, my stories

I am a Girl and I lift HEAVY!

My weightlifting diary

Great Food - Health, Happiness and Freedom...Nxo

Recipes to get you there: Health and happiness because you deserve it, freedom because with the first two we achieve the freedom to live our life to the fullest.

