one day it'll all make sense.

Goat Day!

Today was a big day 🙂  Of course, it could have been even bigger had my common sense not won over the debate that I had with myself at 3:30 this morning.  Today is one of the Crossfit Division coach’s birthday, so to “celebrate” there was a bright and early workout scheduled.  At 4:30am, 5 members of the community arrived at the box for a 21km row.  Say what?!?  Row a half marathon before the sun comes up?  Don’t kid yourself, I SO wanted to try!  But… I’m a retail manager who is about to find myself thrown into 4 crazy days at work thanks to Canada’s adoption of the Black Friday insanity.  Common sense won this one.  The other half of my brain pouted, but resolved to try this challenge next time around.  And back to bed I went.  Yes, I can be a crazy early riser, but 3:30 is even beyond my realm.

Here’s where the “big day” part comes into play.  Got my act together and made it to the box for my 7:30am class.  And…. I was the only one there.  “aren’t you excited?!  You get me all to yourself!” Asked coach Dave.  Apparently my apprehension at this was less excitement than he had been hoping for.  I hurt his feelings 😉  Don’t get me wrong, I prefer the smaller classes, but sometimes it’s nice to catch the moment in time where the coach is not looking your way to take a second of not fluffing up your feathers to be totally awesome.  I should work on that.  I should always just be awesome.  Today’s WOD was a good one anyway 🙂  Goat day!  No need to hide in the shadows, well at least until the last little AMRAP…

goats

Warm-up   4 minute row

On the minute, 10 minutes:

Odd minute – 7 wall balls   #12

Even minute – 5 burpees

Strength

muscle-up transitions

WOD – Gymnastics Goat Day:
OTM for 20 Minutes
Odd: Goat #1  – box jumps (20″)
Even: Goat #2 – pull-ups (green band)

AMRAP, 4 minutes:

wall balls    #12

So, the big win?  100 box jumps 🙂  ALL of which felt SOLID!  Even the one in the last round where I whacked the box hard with my hand on the way up still felt awesome.  For many, no big deal.  The box wasn’t crazy high.  I had a whole minute each round to complete 10 reps.  But to ME, box jumps have been a huge mental barrier.  I have crashed a good number of times.  I have had days where as hard as I try I can’t convince my mind to stop second-guessing and just jump on the damn box.  Today was magic 🙂  The pull-ups sucked, but I got through them too and that’s not the point today.  😉

970699_10151536152157617_513896861_n[1]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

MSnubutterflies

My Walk..........Living With MS

Multiple Sclerosis And Beyond

Bill Walker: msandbeyond@gmail.com

How I live with MS

This is how I live with Multiple Sclerosis

Accessibility Matters

Carpe Diem - Veni Vidi Vici

petra8paleo

Biohacking Autoimmune ~Biohacking Peak Experience

I Train Therefore I Eat.

Nutrition, Strength Training, and joie de vivre

Nick Momrik's CrossFit Training

Experiences with the Sport of Fitness

Mountain Maven

My outdoor adventures in the Last Frontier

sassyfitlatina.wordpress.com/

Sassiness is a lifestyle.

Imperfect Reason

Perfect nonsense from an unreasonable world

Lady with MS

A record of life with Multiple Sclerosis

Whole Living

Embracing MS with God, greens and garland pose

makeitgreenbabe

life, issues, pursuit of happines, my stories

I am a Girl and I lift HEAVY!

My weightlifting diary

Great Food - Health, Happiness and Freedom...Nxo

Recipes to get you there: Health and happiness because you deserve it, freedom because with the first two we achieve the freedom to live our life to the fullest.

