one day it'll all make sense.

drop it like it’s…?

I’m doing my best to keep up with my ramblings, but it seems this week I’m a day behind.  Thing is, I have good intention.  I start my post, but then life gets crazy and I’m not able to get it finished/published till the following day.  At least I can say I’ve been consistent?  😉

Tues Dec 3:

Is it possible that decaf coffee may have the reverse effect of normal coffee?  Does my brain think “mmmm… coffee!” and then just get totally disappointed by the lack of caffeine kick?  Today I found myself wanting a cup around 6:00pm and reasoned with myself that the real thing just wasn’t a good idea this late in the day.  But now I find myself fighting to stay awake :p

Once again, today I sucked.  My usual 7:30 spot was cancelled again so I rearranged my morning plan to make it to the 9:15 WOD.  Problem there – I get rolling on other things and find myself rushing to get to the box on time.  I was standing on one foot in the change room ripping off my sweats only to throw my shorts on backwards when I realized I hadn’t figured breakfast into my busy morning.  First fail.  Thankfully, I realized the shorts fail before hurrying out to join the warm-up.  My head was all over the place.  Tuesday has become Dave’s little “surprise WOD” day.  He posts something awesome sounding on the website, but then you get to the box to learn SURPRISE!!  We’re doing something totally different.  Today had posted a series of power cleans and wallballs, but truth of the matter – today was:

30 – squat clean & jerk, for time

I started the WOD moving pretty well.  Loaded the bar at 80#, but after 20 reps couldn’t get it over head so stripped it down to 60#.  My coordination just wasn’t with me today.  I’m dropping things again, but lucky me this morning’s casualty was non-breakable.  Imagine my excitement at learning we were throwing heavy weight overhead??  Dropping that probably would not end well at all.  I felt weak and tired and just not all together.  Post WOD, Dave came up to me and asked when I stripped the weight.  We talked for a bit about picking a weight next time that I can get all the way through with.  Thing is, I should have been fine with the weight I had.  My head quit.  😦  I didn’t really accept that reality until a few hours later, but at the time I just wanted to run away and hide so I was happy with myself that I didn’t give up completely.  Today was just not my day.  Tomorrow will be a better day…

Comments on: "drop it like it’s…?" (1)

  1. i understand the “head quit” thing. I hate when that happens to me. I always say CrossFit is half mental. Whether you think you can or think you can’t, you are usually right. Need to stay positive!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

MSnubutterflies

My Walk..........Living With MS

Multiple Sclerosis And Beyond

Bill Walker: msandbeyond@gmail.com

How I live with MS

This is how I live with Multiple Sclerosis

Accessibility Matters

Carpe Diem - Veni Vidi Vici

petra8paleo

Biohacking Autoimmune ~Biohacking Peak Experience

I Train Therefore I Eat.

Nutrition, Strength Training, and joie de vivre

Nick Momrik's CrossFit Training

Experiences with the Sport of Fitness

Mountain Maven

My outdoor adventures in the Last Frontier

sassyfitlatina.wordpress.com/

Sassiness is a lifestyle.

Imperfect Reason

Perfect nonsense from an unreasonable world

Lady with MS

A record of life with Multiple Sclerosis

Whole Living

Embracing MS with God, greens and garland pose

makeitgreenbabe

life, issues, pursuit of happines, my stories

I am a Girl and I lift HEAVY!

My weightlifting diary

Personalized Performance & Nutrition

Imagine leaping out of bed every morning feeling awesome, looking your best, ready to face whatever the day presents. Optimize your health and this will be YOU!

