one day it'll all make sense.

new twist on tradition

This weekend was set-up as one of those ones where I did my best to cram everything possible into the 2 day span :p  It’s December, these things happen.  haha  Yesterday morning was a charity event at the box.  Division has been holding a Toys 4 Tots event for 5 years but this year was my first joining the fun.  The WOD was:

“FIGHT GONE BAD”
Three rounds of:
Wall-ball, 20 pound ball, 10 ft target (Reps)
Sumo deadlift high-pull, 75 pounds (Reps)
Box Jump, 20″ box (Reps)
Push-press, 75 pounds (Reps)
Row (Calories)

Result – 282 reps/calories  🙂  I was happy with my performance.  After all the upper body work of thursday and friday, my arms were not thrilled with the SDHP, push-press or the lovely wall balls.  First round, I racked the bar for the push-press and after about 2 reps realized I better make sure to “open your HIPS!” (thank you Coach Sharon for the little reminder that I played on repeat in my mind) or I may not get the bar up at all!

I’ve done fight gone bad before.  Last time I cried through the wall balls.  This time, there were no tears 🙂  However round 3 during the wall balls I thought I might barf, but talked myself out of that too.  I think that’s the first time I’ve felt like that since starting crossfit.  Always makes me think of the early season episodes of The Biggest Loser…  I don’t know how those people barf mid workout and just keep going!  

 

 

t4t  013

 

After the box, I had the annual Christmas cookie day scheduled with my mom.  For as long as I can remember, we’ve spent a day in December baking cinnamon cookies and gingerbread.  When I was a kid we used to do the whole gingerbread house thing too.  Last year, my mom was concerned that my new Paleo thing was going to mean the end of this tradition but with a little help from Pinterest, I found a few new Paleo friendly recipes to try:

Paleo Gingerbread Cookies

Dark Chocolate Coconut Bites

image-1The gingerbread were a HUGE hit last year 🙂  Even my non-treat-loving dad thought they were good.  The dark choc coconut things were a new addition to the nix this year.  HOLY EPIC.  These little balls of heaven will be donated to work people, box people, any people I can think of ASAP.  They need to be out of my fridge they’re so good.  I may have popped one in my mouth last night to try them out.  One may have turned into three.  They need to leave.  :p

Today I’m taking as a rest day from the box.  😦  Not mentally loving it, but my body is screaming for it.  I’m working at Henry’s and tonight is our bowling Christmas party, so I’ll be good and busy enough to deal with my rest day woes.  I’m a crappy bowler :p  should be an entertaining evening!  

this bit hurts :p

this bit hurts :p

This bit, and several other bits in the general elbow to shoulder muscular range, but I couldn’t come up with a way to add more arrows.  It’s a GOOD hurt though 🙂  

 

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

MSnubutterflies

My Walk..........Living With MS

Multiple Sclerosis And Beyond

Bill Walker: msandbeyond@gmail.com

How I live with MS

This is how I live with Multiple Sclerosis

Accessibility Matters

Carpe Diem - Veni Vidi Vici

petra8paleo

Biohacking Autoimmune ~Biohacking Peak Experience

I Train Therefore I Eat.

Nutrition, Strength Training, and joie de vivre

Nick Momrik's CrossFit Training

Experiences with the Sport of Fitness

Mountain Maven

My outdoor adventures in the Last Frontier

sassyfitlatina.wordpress.com/

Sassiness is a lifestyle.

Imperfect Reason

Perfect nonsense from an unreasonable world

Lady with MS

A record of life with Multiple Sclerosis

Whole Living

Embracing MS with God, greens and garland pose

makeitgreenbabe

life, issues, pursuit of happines, my stories

I am a Girl and I lift HEAVY!

My weightlifting diary

Personalized Performance & Nutrition

Imagine leaping out of bed every morning feeling awesome, looking your best, ready to face whatever the day presents. Optimize your health and this will be YOU!

