one day it'll all make sense.

rock steady

It’s amazing how after only a few days away, it can be challenging to talk myself into getting my butt out the door for my regular 7:30 WOD.  I had a few totally legit reasons behind my temptation to bail today, such as the weather network telling me it was -35 degrees out with the windchill and I couldn’t find my running tights.  I quite literally had the bail out email to Coach Sharon typed up in my phone just waiting to be sent… but it’s Friday and maybe my favourite class of the week (cause both Coach Sharon and Coach Dave are there 😉 ), and it was another of those WODs where I had to honestly ask myself “can I even do this?”.  As soon as that question crosses my mind, I generally have to prove to myself that I can.  Here’s the Hero WOD “Clovis” details:

imageYes, you read that right.  10 miles!  Serious?  I thought for a moment it must have been a joke.  But then realized that usually if it sounds awful, it’s the real deal.  It’s the ones that sound enjoyable and doable that are usually the jokes.  So 10 miles it was.  We mutually decided to break in up into 10 rounds of 1 mile, 15 burpee pull-ups.  The coffee lid (bottom right) was likely the expression on my face when I read this little bit of madness last night, and again how I felt after completing round 1 today and realizing I still had 9 more to go.  Since I couldn’t find my running pants, and my lungs were protesting the extreme cold just walking from my apartment to my car, I decided I’d row instead.  Trust me when I say, rowing this far was not at ALL sandbagging this one!  It was brutal!  After round 3 I was tempted to scale and only do half, but by the time I finished round 5 I figured if I showed up, I might as well finish it all!  **Another “you read right… it took 6 minutes and 46 seconds shy of 2 hours!  I wasn’t the slowest… Aleks finished about a minute after me, but only cause he got a bad calf cramp near the end and had to rest and stretch a bit.  That was my chance :p  I turned it up a notch and finished not last.  Haha… I’ll take it!  My hands are so blistered and sore now.  I hope the weekend WODs don’t have pull-ups…

I’m having a wicked hungry day today.  I blame the WOD.  That being said, I’m nearing the end of day 4 sweet potato and butternut squash free 🙂  I’m really trying to get back to the lower starch and sugar content that my diet is intended to hold.  A month tomorrow till bikini time.  I figure it’s only a month… I can do it 😉  Pulled pork just won’t be the same without butternut though…

Comments on: "rock steady" (2)

  1. Damn girl…that’s brutal! I think of how I feel after running 10 miles without the damn burpees–ouch! Nice work!

  2. 10 miles…INSANE! well done!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

MSnubutterflies

My Walk..........Living With MS

Multiple Sclerosis And Beyond

Bill Walker: msandbeyond@gmail.com

How I live with MS

This is how I live with Multiple Sclerosis

Accessibility Matters

Carpe Diem - Veni Vidi Vici

petra8paleo

Biohacking Autoimmune ~Biohacking Peak Experience

I Train Therefore I Eat.

Nutrition, Strength Training, and joie de vivre

Nick Momrik's CrossFit Training

Experiences with the Sport of Fitness

Mountain Maven

My outdoor adventures in the Last Frontier

sassyfitlatina.wordpress.com/

Sassiness is a lifestyle.

Imperfect Reason

Perfect nonsense from an unreasonable world

Lady with MS

A record of life with Multiple Sclerosis

Whole Living

Embracing MS with God, greens and garland pose

makeitgreenbabe

life, issues, pursuit of happines, my stories

I am a Girl and I lift HEAVY!

My weightlifting diary

Great Food - Health, Happiness and Freedom...Nxo

Recipes to get you there: Health and happiness because you deserve it, freedom because with the first two we achieve the freedom to live our life to the fullest.

