one day it'll all make sense.

into the light

They say, It’s always darkest before the dawn.  Well, I’ve kept dormant in terms of blogging over the last few days as there was a whole lot of negativity bouncing around in my head that I really didn’t feel like releasing out into the world.  This is a little excerpt which I drafted Wednesday which helped me realize how crazy I was being:

Sometimes all the determination in the world just isn’t enough.  After all the hours I put in trying as hard as I could to get the rope to turn faster and harder, to jump higher… It wasn’t enough.  I was happy that I got 6 reps cause 6 is better than zero, but had to discontinue my mission to catch up on the reading of my fellow bloggers’ posts about their 14.1 awesomeness.  I’m not being a brat, I am genuinely happy for all those who worked hard and were successful.  It’s just that I set the bar really high for my own performance… 

I mentioned this to a very few and the response was basically “don’t be silly!”  I wasn’t.  I was being honest.  You see, the “cloud 9” I rode into last Saturday on vanished and I crashed back to reality pretty hard.  Thankfully in the process of getting my head back on track, a friend made a comment that stuck with me:

The funny thing is that it’s only you against you, no one else!

Eloquently put 🙂 and exactly what I needed to hear.  It’s an important lesson to learn, no doubt, but it can be one of the hardest.

Last night 14.2 was announced.  I did the briefest of happy dances in my mind at seeing NO double unders 🙂 but then realized what I was reading was still nothing short of crazy hard.  Regardless, I’m stoked to give the Open another shot.

Open WOD 2Another happy note (which is proving a little bittersweet today as my quads are still angry) is Wednesday’s WOD was AWESOME!  My fellow fitness and food junkie from work is getting into crossfit and came to his first workout Wednesday as well.  It was brutal and I LOVED it 🙂  One good thing I’ve gotten from my days of being disappointed in my 14.1 result is a determination to prove to myself that I DO deserve to be a part of the amazing community at CFD by giving EVERYTHING to every other workout that comes our way.  Wednesday was the perfect opportunity:

Part 1. OTM, 7 minutes:

– 7 toes to bar

– 7 box jumps, 20″

Part 2. For Time:

10 Rounds of “Cindy”

30- Front Squats #185/#135    #75

10 Rounds of “Cindy”

*”Cindy”= 5 Pullups/10 Pushups/ 15 Air Squats*   *pull-ups scaled to ring pulls

Part 3. 10-20 Minutes Recovery on the C2 Rower

Coach Dave put a 25 minute time cap on part 2 to prevent this one from going all night.  I finished in 24:00 🙂 and made my way to the white board on very wobbly legs to record my time.  A WOD like this one was exactly what my mind needed to get back to the positive side of things.  Even the complaints I received from my quads yesterday while climbing the stockroom shelves at Sport Chek brought a huge smile to my face 😀  That’s right!  That WOD sucked.  BUT I DID IT 🙂

DSC00172

Went in this morning for my fav. class of the week 🙂  Although, the Friday coffee ritual which we have created does take away from the Coach Dave’s attempted hijacking of Coach Sharon’s classes…  That was part of the entertainment!  Didn’t workout this time though, just went for some mobilizing and some tips/practice for later.  Doing my 14.2 today around 4:00pm.  Wish me luck!  To all my blog “friends” also completing the Open, I wish the best of luck to you as well!

Comments on: "into the light" (3)

  1. good luck today. I’m going at 4:30 and expect to post a 10 for my score. I can’t do C2B pullups yet. Will do my 10 OHS, which won’t be easy for me at 65lbs, and then try for the rest of the time to get 1 C2B. I will be thrilled if I get just one. Time will tell!

    • Thanks 🙂 maybe you will surprise yourself. It’s amazing what a little competition can bring out. My coach suggested, switch up the grip. Either palms towards you, or mixed. Especially for the females.

      • Thanks I will give the mixed grip a try during practice. i’m hoping adrenaline kicks in and my some crossfit miracle i get a couple.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

MSnubutterflies

My Walk..........Living With MS

Multiple Sclerosis And Beyond

Bill Walker: msandbeyond@gmail.com

How I live with MS

This is how I live with Multiple Sclerosis

Accessibility Matters

Carpe Diem - Veni Vidi Vici

petra8paleo

Biohacking Autoimmune ~Biohacking Peak Experience

I Train Therefore I Eat.

Nutrition, Strength Training, and joie de vivre

Nick Momrik's CrossFit Training

Experiences with the Sport of Fitness

Mountain Maven

My outdoor adventures in the Last Frontier

sassyfitlatina.wordpress.com/

Sassiness is a lifestyle.

Imperfect Reason

Perfect nonsense from an unreasonable world

Lady with MS

A record of life with Multiple Sclerosis

Whole Living

Embracing MS with God, greens and garland pose

makeitgreenbabe

life, issues, pursuit of happines, my stories

I am a Girl and I lift HEAVY!

My weightlifting diary

Great Food - Health, Happiness and Freedom...Nxo

Recipes to get you there: Health and happiness because you deserve it, freedom because with the first two we achieve the freedom to live our life to the fullest.

