one day it'll all make sense.

bear with me

**Warning.  This post will contain complaining.  Not interested?  No worries.  Change the channel.  But they say, all is well that ends well and I promise this one will.

Being in pain sucks.  Whether it be from injury, old age, or disease, doesn’t matter.  It just sucks.  I don’t know if it has to do with the weather, or not enough sleep/water, or too many squats :p but the pain in my right leg and foot has been brutal lately.  One of the frustrations is I can’t even really come up with an accurate way to describe it.  I do know that I am my most comfortable lying in a pool chair with no socks or shoes.  Or running.  That could just be because I’m too distracted to notice though :p But wearing shoes?  Arg.  Like, spend most of my day walking around my store with in my old person socks cause even my super-loose birkenstock clogs make it feel like there’s an elephant standing on my foot.  Pain is a part of life.  I get that.  But a pain that never offers any relief can make you a little crazy.  Or bitchy.  Or both.  Pain meds do nothing.  I have a script for a form of morphine but it just makes me high, and still in pain.  One potential light at the end of the tunnel – my massage therapist has recommended more acupuncture.  Fingers crossed please.

On a good note, a fellow crossfitter was asking me questions a while ago about whether I’ve found crossfit to provide any benefit towards my MS.  The answer to that is YES!  Coordination and balance are far better than they used to be.  One of the most frustrating things I have dealt with intermittently over the years is cognitive challenges.  Like, when you know what you want to say but your brain can’t seem to make your mouth produce the words.  I try not to complain when there’s pain involved cause at least it generally is something I can hide from the world.  When this sh*t messes with my mind, I feel exposed.  ALSO, where at one point I was seeing relapses every 6 months-1 year, I haven’t had any in more than 2 😀

Okay, enough complaining.  I need to log some everyday crossfit details.  Here’s how the week started for moi:

Mon. Mar. 17

Part 1. 3 Rounds for time:
10- Power Cleans #135/#95    #75
10- Push Jerks #135/#95      #75

Part 2.  Thruster: Work up to a 5RM – No racks.  No “thrust-a-jerks” – must be a true thruster.

Monday I felt like garbage.  My body was tired. And sore.  Why??  The weekend was pretty non-stop, but the box was closed so I really don’t have an epic excuse.  That’s just how it was.  Warm-up was OTM 10 minutes of 7 wallballs #14 and 3 burpees.  The ball felt stupid heavy right from the start.  Then power cleans were a hot mess.  Then very first push jerk made the room spin.  WTF?!  I haven’t been dizzy in ages.  I didn’t crush this workout by any means, but I didn’t give up either.

unless you puke, faint or die - KEEP GOING!!

unless you puke, faint or die – KEEP GOING!!

Tues. Mar. 18

Part 1. Every minute on the minute for 20 minutes:

Odd Minutes: 10- Hang Squat Cleans #115/#75   #65

Even Minutes: 3-6- Muscle-Ups  transitions

Part 2. Back Squats

Set 1 – 5 reps @ 70%   #85

Set 2 – 3 reps @ 80%    #105

Set 3 – 2 reps @ 85%    #125

Set 4 – 1 rep @ 90%     #135

Set 5 – 10 reps @ 75%     #95

Rest 2 minutes between sets

Part.1 Two sets, not for time, of:

2-3: Rope Climbs 30- 45 Seconds: L-Sits

Tuesday was a better day 🙂  After a good night’s sleep and better water consumption, I was ready to kill this WOD.  Coach Jenna commented that my cleans are looking way better.  I would hope so after the crazy amount of ’em we’ve done lately!  If only it made my apartment cleaner…  Also, today was hang cleans.  Takes the “pull early” opportunity out of the mix.  Have no choice but to use my hips to get that b*tch up!  The AMRAP was fun 🙂  Then some heavier back squats which is something we haven’t done a whole lot of lately.  Then the cherry on top… rope climbs.  I like going up, just wish there was a big comfy pillow I could jump down on rather than trying to maneuver my way back to the ground without 3rd degree rope burn.  Yesterday, I made progress!!  I think it’s called the “J-hook”?  Where the object is to use one foot to kinda anchor the rope while the other controls your pace?  At first, all I could manage was either dead stop or break-neck fast, but things got better as I kept at it 🙂  WIN.  And I like L-sits too.

Last note – Open WOD 14.4 to be announced tomorrow.  I’m still nervous/excited, but have found a little more comfort in knowing I’m certainly not alone.  I’m no where near one of the more competitive females out there, or even at CF Division, but I’m still putting everything I’ve got into every workout and happy with the progress and PR’s I’ve seen so far.  Read an article which spoke of 14.1 and 14.2 and how some athletes were looking for great scores while others were looking to see their first rep of a new movement.  It’s simple (as Coach Dave often says) but I thought it put things into perspective.  If you feel like it, read this:

http://www.boxlifemagazine.com/community/the-design-of-the-open-wods-find-your-limits-then-go-beyond-them

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

MSnubutterflies

My Walk..........Living With MS

Multiple Sclerosis And Beyond

Bill Walker: msandbeyond@gmail.com

How I live with MS

This is how I live with Multiple Sclerosis

Accessibility Matters

Carpe Diem - Veni Vidi Vici

petra8paleo

Biohacking Autoimmune ~Biohacking Peak Experience

I Train Therefore I Eat.

Nutrition, Strength Training, and joie de vivre

Nick Momrik's CrossFit Training

Experiences with the Sport of Fitness

Mountain Maven

My outdoor adventures in the Last Frontier

sassyfitlatina.wordpress.com/

Sassiness is a lifestyle.

Imperfect Reason

Perfect nonsense from an unreasonable world

Lady with MS

A record of life with Multiple Sclerosis

Whole Living

Embracing MS with God, greens and garland pose

makeitgreenbabe

life, issues, pursuit of happines, my stories

I am a Girl and I lift HEAVY!

My weightlifting diary

Personalized Performance & Nutrition

Imagine leaping out of bed every morning feeling awesome, looking your best, ready to face whatever the day presents. Optimize your health and this will be YOU!

