one day it'll all make sense.

stuck on replay

Ever find yourself stuck on replay?  Like you’re just going through the motions of life day after day but not really going anywhere?  Hmm…

I’m a bit behind on my crossfit logging I know.  Seems my sometimes-I-feel-like-an-80-year-old hip is back to its old tricks.  I should make an appointment to go see the box vet (aka massage wizard), but I seem to be plowing through my coverage for these services and need to hold back if I can.  I’ve considered skipping the box more than once when seeing movements that were not conductive to hip recovery, but then realized that there’s always and option.  Even if I show up and just spend time mobilizing I figure it’s better than sitting on my butt :p  A quick catch up on all of the scaling I’ve resorted to the last few days:

Sunday March 23

In Teams of 2, complete
1 Mile Run
50- Back Squats #225/#155    50 strict press #55
1 Mile Run    1 mile row
Both Athletes run at the same time, 1 Athlete squatting at a time

– ARE YOU KIDDING ME???  I’ve been dying to get out and run for EVER!  The hip was not in agreeance, but for the first round I decided “EFF IT.  I’m running”.  It hurt.  Sigh  😦  And it was -15 out and windy as hell.  And Coach Dave didn’t provide any warning that we would be outside so I ran in shorts, tall socks and a thin long sleeve.  My knees went numb almost instantly so that wasn’t an issue, but my ears and hands hurt like hell :p  “Expect the unexpected”.  I know, I know…

Post WOD, two members had challenged each other to a wallballs showdown to see who could complete 100 faster.  A fun little event and treats to the winner 🙂

 

1957989_10151948927857617_1428308871_n

                                                  CrossFit Division: 4:22 for 100 Wallballs… Solid job!

Monday March 24

10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1  for time
Deadlifts #185/#135     #105
Burpees over the Bar

time – 7:27

This one was fun 🙂  I’m a freak, I know, but I actually enjoy burpees and my hip didn’t complain about them either.  The deads felt ok-ish too provided I listened to Coach Dave’s advise and fought to keep my left knee from dropping inward.  I was happy with #105, but on a normal day I could have totally gone Rx here.

Oh ya! Our warm-up consisted of a bunch of the usual stuff, including a light jog around the inside of the box and sideways shuffle.  Who falls during the warmup??  This kid.  Maybe three steps into the sideways bit my mind checked out for a moment and I was staring up at the ceiling :p  Haven’t done THAT in a long time!  Was actually starting to think I could give crossfit a big HI-5 for helping me improve my coordination.  Wrong.  lol

Tuesday March 25

warm-up: 3 rounds – 5 pull-ups, 5 push-ups, 5 sit-ups, 5 squats

Every Minute on the minute for 14 Minutes:
Odd Minutes:
 AMRAP of 5- Burpees + 5-Thrusters #95/#65   5 strict press  #35 + 5 ring pulls
Even Minutes: Rest

Result – 17 rounds + 7 reps

Thrusters?  Goodie :p  Can you think of a movement that involves your hips more?  Nope.  Me either.  My scaling option had nothing to do with the original WOD, but I really enjoyed it 🙂  Kept the intensity level HIGH and rocked through the rounds.  My chest and I are not friends today after all the ring pulls.  Haha love it.

During the warm-up Coach Dave asked if I’ve been working on my pull-ups 🙂  Busted.  I do work at my job, I swear to you…

officepullup

Comments on: "stuck on replay" (1)

  1. As I lay here with my hip packed in ice, you have my deepest sympathies that your hip problem has returned. And if I didn’t work in a gym I would want to work where you are! Getting caught doing pull-ups is way better than getting caught binging on junk food 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

MSnubutterflies

My Walk..........Living With MS

Multiple Sclerosis And Beyond

Bill Walker: msandbeyond@gmail.com

How I live with MS

This is how I live with Multiple Sclerosis

Accessibility Matters

Carpe Diem - Veni Vidi Vici

petra8paleo

Biohacking Autoimmune ~Biohacking Peak Experience

I Train Therefore I Eat.

Nutrition, Strength Training, and joie de vivre

Nick Momrik's CrossFit Training

Experiences with the Sport of Fitness

Run Away With Me

My outdoor adventures in the Last Frontier

sassyfitlatina.wordpress.com/

Sassiness is a lifestyle.

Imperfect Reason

Perfect nonsense from an unreasonable world

Lady with MS

A record of life with Multiple Sclerosis

Whole Living

Embracing MS with God, greens and garland pose

makeitgreenbabe

life, issues, pursuit of happines, my stories

I am a Girl and I lift HEAVY!

My weightlifting diary

Great Food - Health, Happiness and Freedom...Nxo

Recipes to get you there: Health and happiness because you deserve it, freedom because with the first two we achieve the freedom to live our life to the fullest.

