one day it'll all make sense.

whirlwind

Ok, I’m sorry.  I was called out on my blog-neglect and I am 100% guilty.  I’ve been crazy-busy, and I haven’t found a new home just yet for my iMac in my new pad…  AND… my routine life hasn’t completely returned to its regularly scheduled programming which has resulted in my inability to remember to take my meds on like 3 out of 5 mornings last week.  I’m starting to conclude that I really need to make sure I get better at that cause each of those days I was just “off” by like 2:00pm.  Have no fear, things will get better.

Wow… what a ridiculous last 10 days!  At the start of last week I had planned to move on Thursday.  As in, I had arranged with my dad weeks ago to bring his trailer and I had asked DK and another Henry’s dude to come help.  Had even moved my box-monkey Sport Chek shift back to Friday.  When another friend offered to help on Wednesday, I figured we could move some boxes and then Thursday would take care of the big stuff.  Note to self – when you get 2 crossfit friends together and give them a task to do, that shit goes down like it’s “for time”.  With the exception of a very few minor bits, and only cause I was hungry enough to eat my shirt after 15 hours straight, we pretty much moved my entire apartment in just the one day.  Two chicks, one pick-up truck, and my little Mazda = Move DONE.  Found a new appreciation for just how much I can load into my awesome hatchback too.  Thursday I still had DK over to help me get the old couch that was NOT on the invite list to the new condo out of the apartment.  We wrestled with the beast for a bit trying to figure out how to get the damn thing out the front door, then the light bulb went off!  The balcony door is wider… so we hauled the dumb couch out onto my balcony, 3, 2, 1 – partner power clean.  So far so good, and on another count of 3, 2, 1 – we hucked the thing off the balcony.  Totally not legal, but totally awesome!  It even survived enough to carry around the building to the dumpster.  Needless to say, I didn’t get to the box Wednesday or Thursday last week, but I got up to a whole lot of real life crossfit anyways!  After it was all over with, I was EXHAUSTED.  The move day came along with very little time to think about food or water and I paid for it.  But it was all worth it in the end 🙂

welcomehome

I LOVE my new home 🙂  Also loved arriving to this!  When the time comes for me to sell my place, I will remember the extra little effort I received.  It felt great 🙂

Since I’ve been lost and delirious for quite a while, I have some WOD catching up to do:

Fri. August 1:

OTM for as long as possible:
3- Power Cleans #185/#135   #75
3- Front Squats #185/#135   #75
3- Jerks #185/#135   #75
If you complete 10 rounds, add one rep to each movement for each additional minute.
For example minute 11 would be 4 Power Cleans+ 4 Front Squats + 4 Jerks. Minute 12 would be 5 of each, and minute 13 would be 6 of each.

Going into this one I wasn’t sure I would be able to get very far with #75.  Coach Jenna made me commit to 5 rounds, then if I needed to I could strip down to #65.  B*tch please!  Got to round 4 and had a moment of “I GOT THIS!”.  Made it to round 11, but my 4th Jerk was after the 60 second mark so I was done.  The weight wasn’t really the issue.  Felt I could have cleaned and squatted heavier.  Maybe even the jerks too.  The challenge – it was a wrist killer!  By round 7 I struggled to adjust my hands from the squats to take the bar over head.  Round 8, I changed my plan and picked up the pace through the first 2 movements so I could drop the bar and shake my wrists out before the jerks.  It worked, but the 4 reps caught me.  Still… 😀 felt awesome.

Tues. July 29:

Teams of 3, for time:

100- Calorie Row – each athlete must row at least 15 Calories
100- Box Jump Overs (24, 20″)
100- Thrusters (95, 65#)
100- Toes to Bar
100- Thrusters (95, 65#)
100- Box Jump Overs (24, 20″)
100- Calorie Row – each athlete must row at least 15 calories

Time – ??? sigh… forgot to record

Mon. July 28:

3 rounds of:
800m Run   Row
21 Power Cleans (#155, 105#)   #85

Time – 22:54

Since my little break through last week, I’m moving more load finally 🙂  First time cleaning #85 in a WOD, let alone one that dealt out 63 reps!  Went into this one with the mindset of – Don’t care if I’m dead last, I’m not wimping out with the weight.  I was dead last.  And the last round of 21 was probably completely done as singles.  Don’t care 🙂  Still a victory.

Sun. July 27:

Thor’s Hammer

10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1

Power Snatch 95/65   #55
HSPU  feet on box
Deadlifts – 2 x Bodyweight/1.5 x Bodyweight (F)   #135

Followed by 2km run.

Time – 27:56

WICKED WOD!!  I knew with Coach Will being in comand since Dave and Sharon are still away that our Sunday WOD would be killer.  Not that all WODs aren’t, Will just presents a different style of torture that I don’t see all too often.  Thor’s Hammer was fun.  I was paired up with a friend cause there were a lot of people there and not enough bars for everyone to have 2, so we shared a deadlift bar.  It was cool.  I was happy to provide the motivation to someone else to go a little heavier than they normally would have 🙂  Going solo, I might have tried #155, cause all my rounds of deads were unbroken, but I’m happy to #makeothersbetter

Then came the run… 😮  After that little treat of a WOD, I didn’t really feel like doing much for the rest of the day.  Don’t think I got any unpacking done really.  Cooked the easiest of options.  Binge-watched a little Game of Thrones.  Put my hockey bag in the car but drove right past the highway on-ramp cause I realized it just wasn’t gonna happen.  Don’t think I saw 9:15pm.

Fri. July 25:

“Classic”

Part 1. OTM for 8 Minutes:
Minute 1: 12- Cleans #135/#95   #55
Minute 2: 12- Jerks #135/#95    #55
Minute 3: 9- Cleans #155/#105   #65
Minute 4: 9- Jerks #155/#105   #65
Minute 5: 6- Cleans #185/#135   #75
Minute 6: 6- Jerks #185/#135   #75
Minute 7: 3- Cleans #205/#145   #75
Minute 8: 3- Jerks #205/#145   #75
Goal is to do all sets unbroken, TnG and work on cycle times.

Part 2.
1k Row, followed by:

21-15-9:
Kettlebell Swings- 32kg/24kg   16kg
Burpees

Time – 10:31

Part 1 I had every intention of getting to #85 for the 3-rep rounds.  My wrists disagreed!  Part 2 I was determined to set a good pace and get through it as efficient as possible.  A short rest between the kettlebell swings and the burpees let me do the 15’s and 9’s unbroken.  I finished first 🙂  That’s NOT what it’s all about… but it’s a nice feeling every now and again 😉

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

MSnubutterflies

My Walk..........Living With MS

Multiple Sclerosis And Beyond

Bill Walker: msandbeyond@gmail.com

How I live with MS

This is how I live with Multiple Sclerosis

Accessibility Matters

Carpe Diem - Veni Vidi Vici

petra8paleo

Biohacking Autoimmune ~Biohacking Peak Experience

I Train Therefore I Eat.

Nutrition, Strength Training, and joie de vivre

Nick Momrik's CrossFit Training

Experiences with the Sport of Fitness

Run Away With Me

My outdoor adventures in the Last Frontier

sassyfitlatina.wordpress.com/

Sassiness is a lifestyle.

Imperfect Reason

Perfect nonsense from an unreasonable world

Lady with MS

A record of life with Multiple Sclerosis

Whole Living

Embracing MS with God, greens and garland pose

makeitgreenbabe

life, issues, pursuit of happines, my stories

I am a Girl and I lift HEAVY!

My weightlifting diary

Great Food - Health, Happiness and Freedom...Nxo

Recipes to get you there: Health and happiness because you deserve it, freedom because with the first two we achieve the freedom to live our life to the fullest.

