one day it'll all make sense.

clean slate

December has thrown me off my blogging groove already, and it’s just begun.  I’m so far behind my WOD logging that I’m just going to use the old pen and paper log book method for everything leading up to yesterday.  Cause yesterday was awesome.  Wait… they’re pretty much all awesome.  Well, once they are over anyways…  anyways, I’m wiping the slate clean a little and moving forward.  I booked the weekend off work cause I mixed my days up and thought the Santa Pursuit 5km run was today.  It’s next Saturday.  Oops!!  At least I was correct in remembering our CFD Toys for Tots event is tomorrow 🙂  Good times in the form of a little Fight Gone Bad.  My only goal this year… No crying!!  Last year I sobbed to my wall ball, but this year the Queen (my mother) has actually promised to come check it out.  Although, the event is still more than 24 hours away.  Lots of time for her to come up with some sort of excuse not to come as has happened every other time.  I don’t even know why I care that she comes.  She really doesn’t like this whole “crossfit thing”.  I keep shrugging her negative comments off and reminding her there are far worse things I could be addicted to. determined So, although December has spiralled out of control a bit in terms of my free time for pretty much anything (including blogging AND food prep!! :o) It’s been all for enjoyable reasons 🙂  and with today off I have some time to catch up on all the things I’ve been pushing aside.  Wed. and Thurs. there was a Rick Vaive Celebrity Hockey Tournament in Kitchener in support of Easter Seals which my store was sponsoring.  Our sponsorship involved event photography which meant two 12 hour work days for this kid between working in my store and shooting the event.  Thankfully it was hockey and I love shooting that stuff 🙂  Cause I was ready to kill my assistant manager a few times.  That’s a whole different story.  Friday I was in the middle of an overhead squat when a school bus full of teenagers pulled up in front of the box.  WTF?  Haha!  Field trip!!  Ok, a little jealous not going to lie.  My high school field trips were pretty lame in comparison.  A local high school brought in 3 groups of kids for a little WOD action.  Best comment of the day – “oh my GOD!!  This is just the warm up?!?”  hahahaha!  Just wait kid :p  They did a 12 minute AMRAP, circuit style with rowing, box jumps, burpees and wallballs.  It was pretty neat 🙂 and Sharon asked if I would take some pics, so I stuck around gladly.  As a kid, my happiest moments were on the back of a horse or with a camera in my hands.  CFD is bringing back a love of photography for me 🙂  It’s a happy thing again. Fri. Dec. 5:

Teams of 2 SMASH  OUT: 40-30-20-10 Power Snatch #95/#65   #55 Box Jump Overs (24/20) Immediately followed by: 40-30-20-10 Overhead Squats #95/#65  #55 Toes to Bar Immediately followed by: 40-30-20-10 Wallballs (20/14)  #12 Burpees

Time – 34:17

OMG!!  When I read this one Thursday night I thought “well, good thing I don’t work till 1:00 cause this is going to be a looooong one!!”  But I loved it 🙂  My usual speedster of a partner is a popular one.  When 2 other people gave her the look:

partner WOD

I turned my attention to another girl who I’ve paired up with before.  A newer crossfitter who I’ve enjoyed watching improve week after week.  I don’t say “newer” like it’s a bad thing!  This chick works hard!  Anyways, we broke each of the movements up in sets of 5 reps and just kept moving!  The snatches were ok.  I started the box jump overs as step ups, but there was too much spinny-twirly action involved so I scraped that and went with the jump option 🙂  The overhead squats were probably my biggest victory today.  Ok, I maybe could have slapped a pair of 5’s on and gone Rx, but the movement felt great mechanically speaking today.  Win.  Switched things up a little for the wallballs and used the post in the center of the box instead of a wall.  I’ve never done that before, but I liked it!  Made the accuracy element much higher with such a narrow target.  And the wall ball wasn’t Rx weight cause for the life of me I couldn’t find a #14 ball!!  My options seemed to be 12, 20, or 30?  12 it is.  So, it didn’t take all day, but it also didn’t fall in to the time domain Coach Dave suggested of 20 minutes.  Whatever.  I LOVE a good chipper 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

MSnubutterflies

My Walk..........Living With MS

Multiple Sclerosis And Beyond

Bill Walker: msandbeyond@gmail.com

How I live with MS

This is how I live with Multiple Sclerosis

Accessibility Matters

Carpe Diem - Veni Vidi Vici

petra8paleo

Biohacking Autoimmune ~Biohacking Peak Experience

I Train Therefore I Eat.

Nutrition, Strength Training, and joie de vivre

Nick Momrik's CrossFit Training

Experiences with the Sport of Fitness

Mountain Maven

My outdoor adventures in the Last Frontier

sassyfitlatina.wordpress.com/

Sassiness is a lifestyle.

Imperfect Reason

Perfect nonsense from an unreasonable world

Lady with MS

A record of life with Multiple Sclerosis

Whole Living

Embracing MS with God, greens and garland pose

makeitgreenbabe

life, issues, pursuit of happines, my stories

I am a Girl and I lift HEAVY!

My weightlifting diary

Great Food - Health, Happiness and Freedom...Nxo

Recipes to get you there: Health and happiness because you deserve it, freedom because with the first two we achieve the freedom to live our life to the fullest.

