one day it'll all make sense.

Naturally awkward :)

I’m the kind of person who sees no shame in laughing at myself.  I mean, I’ve never been the type to intentionally do something stupid just to make others laugh, but I can be completely uncoordinated at times which can provide some funny situations.  “Naturally awkward” is a phrase my old boss (and good friend) has used to describe me many times.  Anyways… this week I have put a good chunk of effort into working to improve my Power Snatch, Squat Snatch, Hang Snatch, etc.  And… I’ve ended up on my butt probably every day at least once.  This morning, post-WOD I was working on the full squat snatch (cause I’ve somewhat got the hang of the hang version 😉 )  Used my HIPS (I know, there’s a first for everything.) and tossed the bar up over my head with so much power that the bar soared behind me and next thing I knew I was sitting on the ground.  Wolverine gave me a questioning look as I sat for a minute and laughed to myself.  “If I fail a lift, I always seem to end up laughing” I commented.  He lectured me a bit about “there are no failed lifts… bla, bla…” but I’ll stick with a combination of suggestions Coach Dave and Coach Sharon made forever ago.  Don’t be afraid to fail.  Failing means you’re pushing beyond what you know you can do.  It’s the only way you’ll improvement!  When you fail, don’t beat yourself up over it.  Laugh it off, and move on.  I’ve been laughing a lot this week.  Hopefully that means I’m on the path to improving!

I had sort of decided in my mind that instead of pouring out the giant laundry list of WODs I’ve missed blogging about, I would just go through and highlight the best ones.  But when it came down to it, I just couldn’t bring myself to chose which ones should be cut.  Once the work was done, they were all awesome.  Maybe next time I should make the “to post, or not to post” decision before the WOD.  Cause some were pretty terrifying until the 3, 2, 1 – GO!

Utterly exhausted. That pretty much sums up the last few days. My sisters came to Waterloo Saturday so we could spend some time together. As we’ve all grown up, and continue to do so, we’ve become busy in our own little lives and haven’t gotten the chance to hang out much. After lots of good conversation, starting a jigsaw puzzle that proved to be quite challenging, hitting the grocery store to grab some stuff for Sunday’s “Christmas” meal and some food for my non-Paleo siblings, we decided on Home Alone as a good movie idea.  I was falling asleep on the couch by 8:30.

My body would probably really appreciate if I would lay off the crossfit until I manage to get some energy back, but since my routine involves hitting the early WODs, I have enough gas in the tank to get through the longer grinder-style workouts that have been drafted up the last while. Plus, my mind needs the release. Boxing week is pure hell in the retail world. And I LOVE a good 20 minute+ kind thing.

Wed. Dec. 31:

“Open Gym” – Happy New Years’ Eve!

OTM, 10 Minutes:
3 – Burpees
5 – Hang Squat Clean Thrusters  #55
Goat Work:  Squat Snatch #65 & Handstand Holds

Tues. Dec. 30:

Part 1. AMRAP in 5 Minutes:
10- Bar- Facing Burpees
20- Chest-Bar Pullups  ring pulls
Part 2. At the 5:00 Minutes: Establish a 1- Rep MAX Hang Squat Snatch   #70 (#75 hang power snatch.  After landing on my BUTT trying to squat it)
Part 3. At the 10:00 Minutes:
25- Overhead Squats  #55
75- Double Unders  several
25- Calorie Row
75- Double Unders  several
25- Overhead Squats  #55

Oh look!  Another odd ball PR!  My Power Snatch became #75 on Dec. 24, and my Hang Power Snatch became #75 on Dec. 30.  If I could have landed the Hang Squat Snatch at #75 I’d have the triple crown.

Mon. Dec. 29:

Part 1. Deadlift: Build up to a heavy set of 5 Reps   #205 (PR?  is 5RM a “thing”?)
Part 2. AMRAP in 3 Minutes
10- Wallballs 20lbs/14lbs
20- Double Unders
REST 1 Minute
AMRAP in 3 Minutes
MAX Burpees
REST 1 Minute
AMRAP in 3 Minutes
10- Wallballs 20lbs/14lbs
20- Double Unders

Sun. Dec. 28:

5 Rounds of:

3- Power Snatch (155/105)   #65

2- Rounds of Cindy (1 Round = 3 5 Pull-ups/6 10 Push-ups/9 15 Air Squats)

1- Rope Climb

Time – Fast!  But I scaled Cindy :-S One day I’ll “man up”  Mid WOD Coach Sharon headed my way as I stepped to the bar.  “Don’t panic!  Just take a deep breath and lift the bar!”  and I did.  I’m not giving up.  Ok, I like rope climbs, and this one only had 1 rep per round, but sweet jeezuz!  By round 4 my arms were TOAST!  I know, I know… rope climb should be all legs… but tell my arms that!!

Sat. Dec. 27:

Teams of 4- AMRAP 25 Minutes:

4000m Row

100 Dumbbell Snatches – Heavy #35

40 Thrusters (75/55) #55

40 Thrusters (95/65) #65

40 Thrusters (115/80) #75

40 Thrusters (135/95) #85  — 20 reps (5 each)

40 Thrusters (155/105)

Max Thrusters (185/135) in Time Remaining

Score = Max thrusters.  So… -60??  We only got half way through the 4th group of 40 thrusters :-S  Fun WOD though!  LOVE the dumbbell snatches 😀  Row was nearly barf-worthy.  Not sure I’ve ever done an 85lb thruster either, let alone 5.  Felt good though!  Plus the warm-up involved 200 wallballs and post-WOD was 50 push-ups and 50 pull-ups.  Also could have contributed to my eyelids refusing to stay open before 9pm.

Wed. Dec. 24:

“12 Days of Christmas” Invictus, scaled:

1 SDHP #55

2 Thrusters #55

3 Push Press #55

4 Power Cleans #55

5 Power Snatch #55

6 KBS #35

7 Pull-ups ring pulls

8 Knees to Elbows sit-ups

9 Box Jumps (24″/20″)

10 Double Unders

11 Burpees

12 OH Walking Lunges #25

Time – 25:56

This was a fun one!  I’m not usually a fan of open gym days, cause I’m so out of the habit of having to come up with stuff to do on my own.  But when I arranged with a friend to meet at 6am and we found this little beauty as one of the options on the white board, it was a done deal!  Watched the tail end of the 5am group exceed the 40 minute time cap on this bad boy and I was a little nervous.  Once we got started, rounds 1-4 went really quick… then came the snatch.  First 5 were messy.  Second 5 improved.  By the time we got to rounds 10, 11 & 12, I wasn’t dreading the snatch each time.  Then post-WOD, I put in a bit more practice and PR’d with #75.  Yes, you read right.  My Power Snatch PR is 75lbs.  And my Strict Press PR is 80lbs.  Naturally awkward.  But it’s progress, and I’ll take it.

Soooo my Christmas gifts to myself – a #75 Power Snatch, followed by my first ever handstand push-up!  (and 4 more, just to prove to myself it was no fluke!!)  There are videos, but I can’t post them so you’ll just have to believe me 🙂

Comments on: "Naturally awkward :)" (1)

  1. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!! Great present you gave yourself 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

MSnubutterflies

My Walk..........Living With MS

Multiple Sclerosis And Beyond

Bill Walker: msandbeyond@gmail.com

How I live with MS

This is how I live with Multiple Sclerosis

Accessibility Matters

Carpe Diem - Veni Vidi Vici

petra8paleo

Biohacking Autoimmune ~Biohacking Peak Experience

I Train Therefore I Eat.

Nutrition, Strength Training, and joie de vivre

Nick Momrik's CrossFit Training

Experiences with the Sport of Fitness

Mountain Maven

My outdoor adventures in the Last Frontier

sassyfitlatina.wordpress.com/

Sassiness is a lifestyle.

Imperfect Reason

Perfect nonsense from an unreasonable world

Lady with MS

A record of life with Multiple Sclerosis

Whole Living

Embracing MS with God, greens and garland pose

makeitgreenbabe

life, issues, pursuit of happines, my stories

I am a Girl and I lift HEAVY!

My weightlifting diary

Personalized Performance & Nutrition

Imagine leaping out of bed every morning feeling awesome, looking your best, ready to face whatever the day presents. Optimize your health and this will be YOU!

