one day it'll all make sense.

time for play

Ok, time for the good stuff!  Cause no fit bit escapes the snow and ice for sun a sand and a km of ocean front trail to do nothing but lay in the sun for 7 days 😉  Day 1 was pretty chill after a crazy month leading up to vacation time, but then it was game on 🙂

Day 2 I got my first ocean breeze run in 🙂  I had been looking forward to it for months!  The salty ocean air, the palm trees, the brilliant blue sky… oh right!  And the humidity.  😮  It kinda kicked my butt more than I had expected, but it was still wonderful.  Day 3 I stepped on a piece of glass and cut my foot pretty deep 😦  Sigh… that put a bit of a wrench in my runner runner plans.  So We went to the gym instead, which I had also intended.  Worked on my snatch.  Kept things light and worked on the “pieces” – deadlift, hang snatch, hang squat snatch, power snatch, snatch balance, power snatch (w/squat).  My game plan had been to work this movement a LOT while away, but I still felt like I was missing something.  Also realized that without the help of a knowing eye, I could be just grinding my bad habits deeper and deeper into my mind.  So I decided to take a step back.  However, I DID work every day on my handstands!  Note to self – next time I set myself this wicked little goal to spend a week practicing handstands on the beach, I will take into consideration the factors that don’t come into play in a gym environment.  The WIND was a big one!!  And the technique Coach Dave mentioned once of using your fingers as control is drastically less effective when the sand just shifts and says “you’re on your own!”.

image

I brought my new rope along.  The one that I currently hate cause it’s so light in comparison to my orange beast that it feels like I’m just willy-nilly spinning empty handles.  I brought it along with every intention of finding our little happily ever after.  Day 3 glass cut fell in just the right place that kept my rope in my suitcase.  However… I DID work on my pistol squats 🙂

DSC02230

Day 4 made it back to the gym.  Drooled a little over a totally good-looking french girl wearing a Crossfit something-or-other tank top.  I tried to talk to her.  Fail.  My little French paired with her pretty much non-existent english was just not happening.  But we shared a bar 😀  ok…  there was no magical moment.  The gym only had 1 bar.  Besides, bartender Antonio had already asked me to be his bride.  He wanted a wife, I just wanted a piña colada…

P1090739

Day 6 I decided “eff it!” and laced up the runners again.  I had come to the conclusion that my foot was not going to require amputation and could just suck it up for another little trot around the island.  And I was bored with jockeying for a few inches of floor space in the tiny hotel gym.  Starting to really miss my home box…

e5b9a67f35826734e1ea9116b4598599

Day 7 back out for the last island run 🙂  My foot didn’t fall off after day 6, so why not!  Plus running was a little window of “me time” and let me feel a little less guilty for the spoonful of Nutella that may have found its way into my hand on day 6.  Come on!  I made it to day 6!  That’s an accomplishment all in itself.  Also didn’t have even the smallest bowl of ice cream.  A spoon or two from my mom’s bowl, but ice cream isn’t my weakness.  Or ANY of the breads, cookies, cakes, donuts, etc.  The sun queen is a cookie monster.  My weakness was the bag of trail mix we brought from home.  Yup, that bad boy was GONE within the week.  Mom made a comment at one point “I only got a few handfuls!”  Not my fault. Not like I hid it – you snooze, you lose.  I should have hidden it though.  From ME.

Success!! Dedication pays off 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

MSnubutterflies

My Walk..........Living With MS

Multiple Sclerosis And Beyond

Bill Walker: msandbeyond@gmail.com

How I live with MS

This is how I live with Multiple Sclerosis

Accessibility Matters

Carpe Diem - Veni Vidi Vici

petra8paleo

Biohacking Autoimmune ~Biohacking Peak Experience

I Train Therefore I Eat.

Nutrition, Strength Training, and joie de vivre

Nick Momrik's CrossFit Training

Experiences with the Sport of Fitness

Mountain Maven

My outdoor adventures in the Last Frontier

sassyfitlatina.wordpress.com/

Sassiness is a lifestyle.

Imperfect Reason

Perfect nonsense from an unreasonable world

Lady with MS

A record of life with Multiple Sclerosis

Whole Living

Embracing MS with God, greens and garland pose

makeitgreenbabe

life, issues, pursuit of happines, my stories

I am a Girl and I lift HEAVY!

My weightlifting diary

Great Food - Health, Happiness and Freedom...Nxo

Recipes to get you there: Health and happiness because you deserve it, freedom because with the first two we achieve the freedom to live our life to the fullest.

