one day it'll all make sense.

throw’n down

It would probably be a shorter conversation today if you were to ask me “what doesn’t hurt?”  Yesterday was the team Showdown Throwdown at CF Division and my team Shrug Life killed it 🙂  Well… we didn’t win, but had so much fun and did really quite well.  Tied for 2nd place in the last workout too!

Shrug Life

Shrug Life

WOD # 1 – Thruster Ladder

2:00 for each athlete to work as far up the ladder as possible:

Complete 2 thrusters at each weight

55-65-70-75-80-85-90-95-100-105

WOD # 2 – The Girls

18:00 time cap, 1 athlete working at a time:

males – 30 snatches

females – 30 clean & jerks

remaining time – max reps unbroken wallballs

Score – 325 (205 wallballs)

team throwdown4

WOD # 3 – Bambi

7:00 time cap, 1 athlete working at a time:

males – 20 calories Airdyne

females – 15 calories Airdyne

Once first athlete completes calories on airdyne, move on to sled pull relay.  Trade off on sled pulls with second athlete once airdyne is complete, and third/fourth until 7 minutes is complete.

Score – 180 <- don’t know what that means… but I think we came 6th in this one 🙂

team throwdown2

WOD # 4 – The Hundreds

20:00 AMRAP:

100 calorie row – 25 cal per athlete

100 synchronized kettlebell swings #35

100 synchronized burpee-box-jump-overs

100 synchronized deadlifts #105

Score – 425 reps  <- ONLY team in first 2 heats to get back to the row!!

team throwdown

In terms of personal performance, not too often I say this after a comp, but I was really pretty happy with how I did 🙂  Had hoped to get a little farther on the thruster ladder, but decided I was ok with being average there.  Made up for it in the other WODs too!  Got through my 30 clean & jerks in 2 smooth sets of 10 and an 8+2 (not perfectly touch’n’go, but close).  Also killed the row and deadlifts in the last WOD.  Like, kept my split about 1500 cal/hour 🙂 and crushed 2 sets of 25 reps unbroken deads.  The burpee-box-jump-overs kicked my butt HARD.  Ryan and I kept the synchro thing going really well!  I suggested before the WOD started that we were never going to win this dance if we both tried to lead… “You lead!  I’ll just pick up your rythym!” 🙂  It worked great, except his pace was more than I could handle in the burpee bit :p  I cut our sets shorter than planned when I was struggling to get myself up on the box haha!!  Strategy worked none the less.  Tied for 2nd in the workout felt pretty great!  Would love to do another comp with this crew 🙂

Another note from yesterday… I need to plan the fueling portion better.  Got home later Friday night after our final playoff ball hockey game in Hamilton, which yes we lost and yes I was one penalty away from getting kicked out of, and didn’t take the time to figure out a food plan for Saturday.  By the time I got home from the comp after 4pm, I’d eaten some watermelon, 2 aussie bites… I think a few blueberries… yeah.  Fail.  Went out for dinner cause I was totally lacking the desire to cook anything and had the most delicious burger complete with bacon, although anything probably would have been the most delicious thing at that point.  At least I drank lots of water I suppose 🙂  and today has been better on the planning front.  Ball hockey happening again tonight, so we’ll see what my legs think about that!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

MSnubutterflies

My Walk..........Living With MS

Multiple Sclerosis And Beyond

Bill Walker: msandbeyond@gmail.com

How I live with MS

This is how I live with Multiple Sclerosis

Accessibility Matters

Carpe Diem - Veni Vidi Vici

petra8paleo

Biohacking Autoimmune ~Biohacking Peak Experience

I Train Therefore I Eat.

Nutrition, Strength Training, and joie de vivre

Nick Momrik's CrossFit Training

Experiences with the Sport of Fitness

Run Away With Me

My outdoor adventures in the Last Frontier

sassyfitlatina.wordpress.com/

Sassiness is a lifestyle.

Imperfect Reason

Perfect nonsense from an unreasonable world

Lady with MS

A record of life with Multiple Sclerosis

Whole Living

Embracing MS with God, greens and garland pose

makeitgreenbabe

life, issues, pursuit of happines, my stories

I am a Girl and I lift HEAVY!

My weightlifting diary

Great Food - Health, Happiness and Freedom...Nxo

Recipes to get you there: Health and happiness because you deserve it, freedom because with the first two we achieve the freedom to live our life to the fullest.

